Skip to content ↓

Staff & Senior Leadership Team

Senior Leadership Team


Simon Underdown

Mr Underdown joined PHSG in September 2019 from Churston Ferrers Grammar School.  He has been a senior leader since 2008 and a teacher for over 25 years having served in six different schools.  Mr Underdown is determined to ensure that our students have an enjoyable and fulfilling experience at school.

Deputy Headteacher

Donna Roughton

Miss Roughton joined PHSG in 2008 from Lipson Community College. Before being promoted to the senior team at Plymouth High, Miss Roughton was an extremely successful Head of Mathematics at both Lipson and Plymouth High. She has been a teacher for over 20 years. As Deputy Headteacher, she is responsible for the curriculum and academic standards and makes sure that our systems run smoothly and efficiently.

Assistant Headteacher, Thinking Teaching and Learning

David Britz-Colwill

Mr Britz-Colwill returned to PHSG in 2008, having led the Biology Department at Carisbrooke High School on the Isle of Wight. Serving as our Deputy Head of Science, he left in 2013 to take up a science leadership role at Woodhouse College, a highly-successful sixth form college in North London before returning in 2018 as our Head of Science. An experienced teacher of more than 17 years, Mr Britz-Colwill was appointed in 2023 as Assistant Head Teacher responsible for Thinking Schools accreditation as well as teaching and learning. He also oversees teacher training, including early career teachers and Curriculum Enrichment Week.

Assistant Headteacher, Head of Sixth Form

Alan Jenkins

Mr Jenkins has joined PHSG from Devonport High School for Boys in September 2021.  He is an experienced leader with over 20 years of teaching experience.  Mr Jenkins is responsible for making sure that the quality of teaching and learning in the Sixth Form is of the highest standard.  He oversees all post Sixth Form learning applications including those for Oxbridge and all medical related courses.

Assistant Headteacher, SENDCo & DSL

Samantha Payne

Mrs Payne joined PHSG in 1991 from The University of Exeter. She has been a teacher for over 28 years  and in that time has held a wide variety of teaching and leadership positions. Mrs Payne is responsible for ensuring that our students with additional needs receive appropriate support and guidance. Mrs Payne is also our Designated Safeguarding Lead and manages the support base.


Heads Of Department


Head of Art
Mr Tom Varrall
Email here


Head of English
Mrs Siobhan Blunden-Currie
Email here


Head of Mathematics
Miss Georgina Freeman-Alford
Email here


Head of PSHE
Mrs Catherine Lewin
Email here


Head of Physics
Mr Matthew Thackray
Email here
Head of Design & Technology
Mrs Gemma Young
Email here


Head of Geography
Mr Leon Graves
Email here


Head of MFL
Mrs Heidi Walsh
Email here


Head of Religious Studies
Miss Tanya McAuliffe
Email here


Head of Chemistry
Mr Matthew Davies
Email here


Head of Drama
Miss Claire Crouch
Email here


Head of History
Mr Richard Mallard
Email here


Head Of Physical Education
Mrs Alison Pickles
Email here


Head of Science
Mr Adrian Waite
Email here






Heads of Year

Year 7
Miss Shellie Joynes
Email here


Year 10
Mrs Zoe Nicol-Boyle
Email here
Year 8
Mrs Fiona Banks
Email here


Year 11
Mr Duncan Law
Email here
Year 9
Miss Tess Taylor
Email here

Full Staff List

Art Department

  • Mr Tom Varrall (HOD)
  • Miss Megan Walsh

Business Studies (6th Form)

  • Mr Peter Goodchild


  • Mr Pete Richards

Design & Technology

  • Mrs Gemma Young (HOD) 
  • Mrs Penny Brown
  • Mr Darren Watson
  • Mrs Jo Landsborough (Maternity Cover)
  • Mr Eamonn Keating (technician)


  • Mrs Claire Crouch (HOD)
  • Mrs Joanna Clews

Economics (6th Form)

  • Mr Alan Jenkins (SLT)
  • Miss Victoria Carter


  • Mrs Siobhan Blunden-Currie (HOD)
  • Mrs Ruth Readey
  • Mr David Rutherford
  • Miss Catherine Taylor
  • Mrs Nicola Ilott
  • Mrs Rebecca Hoyte


  • Mr Leon Graves (HOD)
  • Mrs Zoe Nicol-Boyle (HOY)
  • Mrs Louise Stoodley
  • Mr Roland Wills (Maternity Cover)


  • Mr Richard Mallard (HOD)
  • Miss Kate Tomalin
  • Ashton Wright
  • Miss Ellen Chapman 
  • Ms Luci Findlay
  • Mrs Sophie Lee

Law (6th Form)

  • Ms Luci Findlay


  • Miss Georgina Freeman (HOD)
  • Mr Simon Underdown (HT)
  • Miss Donna Roughton (SLT)
  • Mr Duncan Law (HOY)
  • Mr Pete Goodchild
  • Mrs Victoria Carter
  • Mr Pete Richards
  • Miss Kate Wakeling

Modern Foreign Languages

  • Mrs Heidi Walsh (HOD)
  • Mrs Anna Carter
  • Miss Elizabeth Hofmann
  • Mrs Jade Gilchrist


  • Mrs Kristy Marcer-Griffiths

Physical Education

  • Mrs Alison Pickles (HOD)
  • Mrs Emma Goolden
  • Miss Lowenna Jones
  • Mrs Joanna Clews
  • Mrs Kelly Luscombe


  • Mrs Catherine Lewin (HOD)
  • Mrs Sam Payne (SLT)
  • Various staff are trained to deliver PSHE

Psychology (6th Form)

  • Edward Baines


Religious Studies

  • Miss Tanya McAuliffe (HOD)
  • Mrs Fiona Banks (HOY)
  • Mrs Helen Brownbridge


  • Mr Adrian Waite (HOS) &(HOD-B)
  • Mr Matthew Thackray (HOD-P)
  • Mr Matthew Davies (HOD-C)
  • Miss Shellie Joynes (HOY)
  • Dr Charlotte Doddrell
  • Mrs Philippa Hatfield
  • Miss Annette Cook
  • Mrs Catherine Lewin
  • Mrs Lynne Caddy (senior technician)
  • Laura Tills (technician)

Extended projects

  • Mrs Sam Payne (SLT)
  • Mrs Catherine Lewin

Cover Supervisors

  • Mrs Rebecca Jagger-Rowden
  • Ms Nikki Barnett
  • Mr Jim Pearce
  • Mrs Joanna Landsborough
  • Mrs Tess Taylor
  • Mrs Katherine Nutter

Catering Department

  • Catering Manager: Mrs Sue Arkroyd
  • Catering staff: Mrs Kelli Cole, Mrs Amanda Holdsworth,  Miss Mel Mason, Miss Sam Wonnacott, Miss Kayleigh Rice
  • Mealtime Supervisor: Mrs Nicola Hunter, Mrs Janett Burdess 


  • Careers Leader and Advisor: Mrs Heather Longford

Data Management/Exams Team

  • Exams Officer: Mrs Julie Hardwick
  • Data Manager: Mrs Rachel Will

Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme

  • DofE Manager: Ms Nikki Barnett
  • DofE Assistant: Mrs Katherine Nutter

ICT Support,

  • SW Service Delivery Manager: Mr Chris Box
  • IT Technician: Miss Jo Fellowes
  • IT Technician: Mr Kieran Moore
  • IT Technician: Mr Paul Blight


  • Librarian: Miss Anna Harris (Tues- Thurs)
  • Mrs Delia Heard (Mon & Fri)

Office Team

  • Head’s PA: Miss Vicki Benwell
  • Office Manager and Cover Manager: Miss Joanne Noble
  • Assistant to Heads of Years 7-11: Miss Jackie Barker
  • Assistant to Head of Sixth Form: Ms Karen Mills
  • Attendance Officer: Miss Elizabeth Monelle
  • Sixth Form Centre & Attendance Co-ordinator: Mrs Jen Catchpole
  • Administration: Mrs Tess Taylor (HOY)
  • Resources & Admin Assistant: Mrs Liz Hore
  • Receptionist: Miss Gemma Shattock
  • Data Protection Officer: Mrs Kathryn Rogers

SEND/Medical Inclusion Team and First Aid in A01

  • Learning Mentor and First Aid: Mrs Trish Simister
  • Learning Mentor: Mrs Sophie Lee
  • SEN Administrator: Mrs Nicky Gill

Site Support Team

  • Facilities Manager: Mr Darren Berrey
  • Facilities Officer: Mrs Sarah Harris
  • Facilities Assistant: Mr Lewis Lyttle