Skip to content ↓


Welcome from the Chair of Governors

The Governing Body are central to the effectiveness and accountability of the school and as Chair of Governors, I am extremely proud of Plymouth High, its inspirational students and our incredibly hard-working and committed staff.  My main role is to work with the Headteacher to set the strategic direction and guiding principles and to focus on continually improving the school and the student experience.

The members of the governing body derive from wide and varied backgrounds and bring a strong mix of professional skills and experience that are used to support the school and to promote and maintain the highest possible standards of educational achievement.  All governors are actively involved and attend many events demonstrating their strong support and commitment.

We are an outward looking school and are always looking for ways to do things better; being a member of the South West Teaching Schools Alliance and the South West Academic Trust demonstrates our commitment to strive for excellence.

Plymouth High operates a competitive House system which encourages and rewards both the individual and team philosophy and students also organise and take part in various Festivals each year.  We delight in celebrating all student achievements through a culture of praise and recognition to make sure they can eventually leave us with a personal confidence and conviction to go on and achieve anything they put their minds to.

Plymouth High is a calm, caring, happy and positive environment with high aspirations; using values of courage, commitment, creativity and hard work, our school endeavours to inspire and help everyone to reach their full potential.  The school’s motto ‘For Life Not School We Learn’, is the keystone to our ethos and keeps us focussed on preparing our students for a future beyond secondary education.

Should you wish to become a member of our enthusiastic and professional Governing Body, please do not hesitate to contact me through the school.

Mr Gary Chapman, Chair of Governors.

Mr Gary Chapman, Chair of Governors